Sign In
  • عربي
  • Contact Us
  • Sitemap
  • FAQ

​​​​​​​​​​​​The National Museum of Ras Al Khaimah​​​

 

The History

It is well known from historical sources an 'Early Fort' existed inside Ras Al Khaimah Old Town in close proximity to the Mohammed bin Salim Mosque. The ancient documents and letters inform us that it was at least destroyed twice, in 1621 by the Portuguese and in 1820 by the British. Serving as a residence for the ruling family it was eventually given up around 1920 for a bigger one, just 700m to the south. This 'Later Fort' had originally been built between the British attacks of 1809 and 1819 outside the town-wall and Ras Al Khaimah Old Town. Drawn on the ancient British maps as a squarish defense structure strengthened with three round towers and a single big tower, it was eventually developed into a larger fortified complex. It served as the residen​ce of the ruling Quwasim family until 1964, when the late Ruler, H.H. Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed al-Qasimi, moved to a modern building in Mamoura. Later it became a police head quarters and a prison, before it was finally converted into the National Museum in 1987. Reflecting an eventful history it has been continuously enlarged over time, displaying a rich diversity of traditional architecture. Today the 'Late Fort ' exhibits historical, ethnographical and archaeological material relating to the emirate of Ras Al Khaimah and provides an interesting insight into the history and traditions of this area.

The Building

Like all other traditional houses in Ras Al Khaimah Old Town the 'Late Fort' was originally constructed from coral stone, a fossil building material originating from the sea. Although being fairly light-weight it possesses excellent insulation qualities, keeping buildings cool in summer and warm in winter. Today the massive rectangular tower represents the oldest part of the 'Late Fort'. It originally served as a single defense tower and, unlike today, stood outside the perimeter wall of Old Town Ras Al Khaimah. While its foundations and lower parts originate from 1809-1819, all further additions took place after the peace treaty was signed with the British in 1820. The picture we get today of the 'Late Fort' is that of an interesting conglomerate of two-storey buildings surrounding a central courtyard. The big rectangular tower is still the most impressive feature and a smaller tower occupies the opposite corner.  Another prominent building is the wind tower, representing the traditional 'air conditioning of the past. Its open sides are designed to catch the breeze from any ​direction and funnel it down into the room below keeping it cool and ventilated, especially during hot summer months.  If desired the wind tower could be blocked with matting or specially cut pieces of wood during winter, when the weather was much cooler with occasional rainfall.  During recent restoration works different traditional mortars and application methods were used to match the authentic building methods of the past, while simultaneously indicating the architectural history of the 'Late Fort'to the visitors.

The Galleries

Many rooms inside the Late Fort are open to the public and exhibit archaeological, historical and ethnographical objects. The artifacts and collections were partly donated by members of the ruling Quwasim family and residents of Ras Al Khaimah. Archaeological excavations, surveys and various scientific research projects undertaken by the Department of Antiquities and Museums have provided further material and significant information about the culture and the traditions of the area.  All exhibition rooms are situated around the inner courtyard garden and can be entered through antique wooden doors with traditional carved designs.  The various galleries contain a rich variety of archaeological finds, historical information and aspects of the cultural heritage of this emirate. Further galleries are planned in the near future to supplement the present exhibitions.​

United Arab Emirates​

 National Museums of Ras Al Khaimah

​T: +97172333411

تسجيل الدخول
  • English
  • اتصل بنا
  • خريطة الموقع
  • الأسئلة المتكررة

​​

متحف رأس الخيمة الوطني​

نبذة تاريخية​​​

تم إنشاء "القلعة الأولى" داخل المدينة القديمة في رأس الخيمة على مقربة من مسجد محمد بن سالم حيث تم التعرف إليها من المصادر التاريخية، وتبلغنا الوثائق والخطابات القديمة والتي تم إتلافها على الأقل مرتين، مرة في العام1621  من قبل البرتغاليين ومرة أخرى في العام1820  من قبل البريطانيين؛ وقد عملت هذه القلعات كمسكن للأسرة الحاكمة إلى أن تم التخلي عنها في نهاية المطاف في العام  1920 تقريباً، وذلك من أجل الانتقال إلى قلعة أكبر على بعد 700 متر إلى الجنوب. وقد تم إنشاء هذه القلعة القديمة أساساً في الفترة الواقعة بين الهجمات البريطانية عام 1809  و1819  خارج جدار البلدة والبلدة القديمة في رأس الخيمة، وقد كانت ضمن الخرائط البريطانية القديمة كبنية للدفاع المربعاني معززة بثلاثة أبراج مستديرة وبرج واحد كبير، فقد تم تطويرها في نهاية المطاف إلى مجمع محصن أكبر وكانت بمثابة مقر إقامة لأسرة القواسم الحاكمة حتى العام 1964 عندما انتقل الحاكم السابق المغفور له سمو الشيخ صقر بن محمد القاسمي إلى مبنى حديث في المعمورة، ومن ثم أصبح في وقت لاحق مقرًا للشرطة وسجناً، قبل أن يتحول في نهاية الأمر إلى المتحف الوطني في العام 1987، وقد استمر توسيعه مع مرور الوقت ليعكس تاريخ حافل ويعرض مجموعة متنوعة وغنية من فن العمارة التقليدية. تعرض القلعة القديمة في الوقت الحالي المواد التاريخية والجغرافية والأثرية المتعلقة بإمارة رأس الخيمة كما تقدم فكرة مثيرة للاهتمام بشأن تاريخ وتقاليد هذه المنطقة.

المبنى

مثل كل البيوت التقليدية الأخرى في المدينة القديمة في رأس الخيمة فقد تم إنشاء القلعة القديمة في الأصل من حجر المرجان وهو مادة تستخدم من البناء من الأحافير مصدرها من البحر، وعلى الرغم من كونها خفيفة الوزن إلى حد ما فإنها تمتلك خواص عازلة ممتازة، وتحافظ على المباني باردة في الصيف ودافئة في الشتاء، ويمثل البرج المستطيل الضخم الجزء الأقدم من 'القلعة القديمة' ويعتبر أصلا بمثابة برج دفاع فردي وعلى خلاف ما هو الحال عليه اليوم فقد كان يقع خارج جدار محيط البلدة القديمة لرأس الخيمة، وفي حين تم تشييد أساسات البناية والأجزاء السفلية منها في الفترة من 1809-1819، فقد تم إنشاء كافة الإضافات بعد توقيع معاهدة السلام مع البريطانيين في العام 1820، والصورة التي نراها اليوم عن 'القلعة المتأخرة' هي تجمع من مباني من طابقين مثيرة للاهتمام تحيط بالفناء المركزي، وما يزال البرج الكبير المستطيل الشكل الصورة الأكثر إثارة للإعجاب في حين يحتل البرج الأصغر الزاوية المقابلة. بناء بارز آخر هو برج الرياح والذي يمثل 'المكيفات' التقليدية في الزمن الماضي وقد تم تصميم جوانبه المفتوحة بطريقة تسمح بوصول نسيم الهواء من أي اتجاه وتوجيهه إلى الأسفل إلى الغرفة أدناه من أجل الحفاظ عليها باردة وهاوية، وخصوصاً خلال شهور الصيف الحارة. ويمكن إغلاق برج الرياح عند الرغبة باستخدام حصيرة أو قطع مقطعة خصيصاً من الخشب خلال فصل الشتاء أو عندما يكون الطقس أكثر برودة عند هطول الأمطار الموسمية. وقد تم استخدام أساليب تقليدية مختلفة في البناء والطين أثناء أعمال الترميم التي تمت مؤخراً لتتناسب مع أساليب البناء الأصيلة في الزمن الماضي، على أن تشير في الوقت نفسه إلى التاريخ المعماري لزوار القلعة القديمة.

صالات  العرض في المتحف الوطني

تعد العديد من الغرف داخل "القلعة القديمة" مفتوحة للجمهور وتعرض أشياء أثرية وتاريخية وجغرافية، وقد تم التبرع بالقطع الأثرية والمجموعات الأثرية بشكل جزئي من قبل أفراد من أسرة القواسم الحاكمة والمقيمين في رأس الخيمة، وقد وفرت أعمال التنقيب الأثرية والمسوح ومختلف مشاريع البحوث العلمية التي قامت بها دائرة الآثار والمتاحف مزيدت من المواد والمعلومات الهامة عن ثقافة وتقاليد المنطقة. تقع جميع غرف المعرض حول حديقة الفناء الداخلي ويمكن الدخول إليها من خلال الأبواب الخشبية التقليدية ذات التصاميم التقليدية المنحوتة. تحتوي صالات العرض المختلفة على مجموعة متنوعة غنية من الموجودات الأثرية، والمعلومات التاريخية وجوانب التراث الثقافي لهذه الإمارة، ومن المقرر إنشاء معارض أخرى في المستقبل القريب استكمالا للمعارض الموجودة حاليا.​

 

متحف رأس الخيمة الوطني​

ت: 97172333411+​